Nuherbs 2019 TCM Scholarships

Nuherbs® wishes to thank everyone who made our 2019 Nuherbs Chinese Medicine Scholarship Program possible, in particular the participating schools. These scholarships recognize the future leaders of our growing Chinese medicine community in the United States. Without the support of the practitioners that uses our products and the people that they are helping, this scholarship program would not be possible. Together, we are building the future of Chinese medicine in America.

This year, students from 40 schools across the nation participated. Evaluation criteria were based on the students written responses to a short essay question, as well as their commitment to their schools and communities. This year's question was:

"Chinese herbal medicine's rich history has withstood the test of time to retain relevance and value in the 21st century. With modern advances in science and technology, what can we do as herbal medicine practitioners to ensure the practice forges into the future?"

Scholarships are awarded specifically to assist with tuition at a traditional oriental medicine institution accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. Every participant will receive a $30 gift certificate from Nuherbs.

To be eligible, you must be a current student with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and attend a participating school. The 2019 Scholarship Program will be announced later this winter.

Thank You to all the 2019 Nuherbs Scholarship Participating Schools

2019 Nuherbs Chinese Medicine Scholarship Recipients

  • $2,000 Nuherbs® Scholarship

Rachel Michelle Silverstone of Five Brances University, Santa Cruz, CA

  • $1,500 Herbal Times® Scholarship

Mozelle Allie Armijo of Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, San Diego, CA

  • 1,000 Jade Dragon® Scholarship

Lisa Anne Franzetta of Acupuncture & Integrative Medicine College, Berkeley, CA

Read some of the moving essays from past years' winners: 20162017 and 2018. If your school wishes to participate in the 2020 Nuherbs Scholarship Program, email



2019 Judges

Dr. Christian Hoffert, L.Ac. is a DAOM candidate at American College of Traditional Chinese Medicine. At his clinic in Daly City, he specializes in treating chronic pain, stress syndromes, and neurological dysfunction.

Erica W Chu is a native of Texas and graduated from AOMA School of Integrative Medicine in Austin and is currently practicing acupuncture and Chinese herbology in San Antonio, Texas.  Her areas of special interests include Chinese herbal dermatology and Japanese pediatric Shonishin.  

Mr. Wilson Lau, Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Nuherbs. Mr. Lau is responsible for reinstating the Nuherbs Scholarship Program. As the third generation involved in Nuherbs he has been surrounded by herbs and Chinese Medicine since infancy. He currently is a member of the board of the American Herbal Products Association. Mr. Lau can be seen at most major trade shows and conferences promoting Chinese Medicine.

Thank you to all who participated, and especially to this year’s winners, who demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment to contribute to our wider TCM community during their career by sitting on committees, working to create/change legislation, perform translation of key Chinese publications into English for Western audience access, travel abroad to gain first-hand knowledge from China, and conduct and publish research for the greater understanding and acceptance of TCM in the modern world. We are grateful in advance for the work these folks will do during the course of their careers to benefit all of us in the field of Chinese medicine.



All of us at Nuherbs