Nuherbs TCM Scholarships 2014

Nuherbs Co. wishes to thank everyone who contributed to our 2014 Nuherbs Co. Chinese Medicine Scholarship Program. These scholarships recognize the future leaders of our growing Chinese medicine community in the United States. Your support is integral to the success of our scholarship program. Without your participation, our scholarship program would not be possible. Together, we are building the future of Chinese medicine in America.

This year, students from over 45 schools across the nation participated. Evaluation criteria were based on the students written responses to a short essay question, as well as their commitment to their schools and communities. This year's question was "How can Traditional Chinese Medicine, in particular herbs and herbal supplements thrive in today's instant gratification society?"

Scholarships are awarded specifically to assist with tuition at a traditional oriental medicine institution accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. Every participant will receive a $30 gift certificate from Nuherbs Co.

To be eligible, you must be a current student with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and attend a participating school. The 2015 Scholarship Program will be announced later this fall.

2014 Nuherbs Co. Chinese Medicine Scholarship Recipients

  • $2,000 Nuherbs Scholarship
  • Heather George of National College of Natural Medicine, Portland, OR

  • $1,500 Herbal Times Scholarship
  • Leila Plummer of AOMA Graduate School of Integrative Medicine, Austin, TX

  • $1,000 Jade Dragon Scholarship
  • Marlene Cummings of American College of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, Houston, TX

2014 Judges

Jake Paul Fratkin, OMD, L.Ac. is the author of Essential Chinese Formulas (2014) and Chinese Herbal Patent Medicines, The Clinical Desk Reference (2001), and the editor-organizer of Wu et Fischer's Practical Therapeutics of Traditional Chinese Medicine. He is the recipient of ACUPUNCTURIST OF THE YEAR, 1999, by the AAAOM and TEACHER OF THE YEAR, 2006, American Association of Teachers of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (AATAOM). He is about to release Case Studies in Autoimmune Disease with Dr. Zeng Shengping for People's Medical Publishing House. His new work, Essential Chinese Formulas: 225 Classical and Modern Prescriptions Organized by Clinical Category, a practical and shorter revision of the clinical desk reference, includes all of the Herbal Times formulas.

Dr. Natha Surinsuk, L.Ac. grew up in Thailand, where she learned and practiced eastern philosophy, massage, and herbal medicine at a very young age. After receiving her Bachelor of Science degree in Psychobiology from the University of California, Los Angeles, and she went on to complete her Master of Science in Traditional Oriental Medicine at Pacific College of Oriental Medicine. Natha currently practices traditional Chinese medicine in Southern California and is editor of Nuherbs Company's monthly newsletter Herbal Explorations.

Mr. Wilson Lau, Vice President of Sales and Marketing, Nuherbs, Co. Mr. Lau is responsible for reinstating the Nuherbs Co. Scholarship Program. As the third generation involved in Nuherbs Co. he has been surrounded by herbs and Chinese Medicine since infancy. He currently holds a seat on the board of the American Herbal Products Association. Mr. Lau can be seen at most major trade shows and conferences promoting Chinese Medicine.

Read the thought-provoking essays of previous scholarship recipients: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. If you have any questions, email